Summitt Named Naismith Outstanding Contributor
Pat Summitt is the 2013 Naismith Outstanding Contributor to Women's College Basketball.

Dec. 12, 2012

ATLANTA - Pat Summitt, the all-time winningest coach in NCAA basketball history, can add one more career achievement award to her trophy case. Summitt, the women's basketball head coach emeritus at Tennessee, was selected as the 2013 Naismith Outstanding Contributor to Women's College Basketball Award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Wednesday.

First given in 1999 to Margaret Wade, the Naismith Outstanding Contributor to Women's Basketball Award is presented annually to individuals whose extraordinary efforts have made contributions of outstanding significance and have created a long-lasting positive impact on the game of basketball. The recipients display character, integrity and dignity, and have contributed mightily to the growth, success and viability of basketball. To be eligible, an individual must have been involved with the sport in a capacity related to coaching, broadcasting, college administration or the news media.

Summitt is the only coach in NCAA history with 1,000 victories and holds a career record of 1098-208. She retired in 2012 after spending her entire 38-year career coaching at the University of Tennessee. During her tenure, Summitt led the Lady Vols to eight NCAA Women's National Championships and 16 SEC Championships, and was named Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year five times (1987, 1989, 1994, 1998, 2004). On May 29, 2012, President Obama presented Summitt with the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

Selected by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Directors, Summitt will be recognized at the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Naismith Awards Banquet on Tuesday, March 19, 2013 in Atlanta. The Naismith Outstanding Contributor to Men's Basketball winner is Lute Olson. He will be honored alongside Summitt.

"If it's possible to be both proud and humbled at the same time, I am at being named as the winner of the 2013 Naismith Outstanding Contributor to Women's College Basketball Award," Summitt said. "Any award associated with the name Naismith is a special award, and I look forward to receiving it in Atlanta next March. I have always enjoyed my association with the Atlanta Tipoff Club and have appreciated all they have done to grow and promote the game of basketball."

"It's hard to imagine what women's college basketball would be today had Pat not been the pioneer that she was," said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club executive director. "Her contributions, both on and off the court, embody the very meaning of this award and her imprint on the sport will live on forever."

For more information, visit

Past winners of the award include:

Former Naismith Outstanding Contributor to Women's Basketball Award Winners
2012 Teresa Edwards
2011 Cheryl Miller
2010 Marsha Sharp
2009 Anne Donovan
2008 Jody Conradt
2007 Kay Yow
2006 Val Ackerman
2005 Leon Barmore
2004 Sonja Hogg
2003 Betty Jaynes
2002 Billie Moore
2001 Cathy Rush
2000 Harley Redin
1999 Margaret Wade

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded during the 1956-57 season, has presented the Naismith Trophy every year since UCLA's Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969. Old Dominion's Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women's Naismith Trophy in 1983.

The Naismith Award has become the most prestigious award in all of college basketball, recognizing the Men's and Women's College Basketball Player of the Year, Men's and Women's College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and contribution to the game.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago