USC Women Win MPSF T&F Title, Men Take Second

    Feb. 25, 2017

    Results Get Acrobat Reader

    USC’s women’s team won the team title and the men’s team took second on the strength of four individual titles during the final day of action at the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) Indoor Track & Field Championships held at Dempsey Indoor in Seattle, Wash. today (Feb. 25). Cameron Pettigrew won the women’s 400m, the women’s 4x400m relay won and tied the meet and track record and Brittany Mann set the USC shot put record in taking second to help lead USC to 125 points and a 20-point win in the team competition. Winning titles for the men’s team were Randall Cunningham with a meet record in the high jump, Dominic Smallwood in the triple jump, Robert Ford in the 800m and Just’N Thymes in the 60m dash to lead them to 83 points and a second-place finish. USC’s women’s team won its third MPSF title in four seasons.

    “We had a great weekend at MPSF with some phenomenal performances! I am extremely proud of our team for the way they competed and overcame some obstacles this weekend” said USC Director of Track & Field Caryl Smith Gilbert. “We have been working very hard at being consistent week in and week out. Our coaching staff has done a great job of preparing each event group so that we are ready for the championship meets and high level competition. Now we will go into indoor NCAA with solid performances on the board and compete at our best and maximize our personnel. Although we decided to rest a few of our men for the outdoor season, our men's team performed well. The women performed well in all areas and it was great to see them step up and put some national marks on the board as well. We are headed back to LA to get back to work for Indoor NCAA's in 2 weeks.”

    • USC’s women’s 4x400m relay team of Pettigrew, Amalie Iuel, Kendall Ellis and Deanna Hill won the final event with a time of 3:32.54. Its time tied the meet and track record and earned USC its final 10 points in its 20-point win over second-place Oregon.

    • Cunningham won the men’s high jump title with an indoor PR of 7-5.25 (2.27m). His jump set the meet record and earned USC 10 team points.

    • Pettigrew won the women’s 400m title by posting a PR of 52.27 and bettering her third-place standing on USC’s all-time list. Iuel took third with a time of 53.16 and Kyra Constantine won her heat and was sixth overall with a time of 53.93. The trio teamed up to earn USC 19 points in the team competition.

    • In the men’s 400m race, Zyaire Clemes won his section and tied his PR with a time of 46.74 to finish third. Ricky Morgan Jr. was third in the first section and fourth overall with a time of 46.80. Together, Clemes and Morgan Jr. earned USC 11 points. Alexander Rohani had a PR of 48.70 and placed 21st overall.

    • Mann set a school record and took second in the women’s shot put competition with a throw of 55-9.25 (17.00m). She broke the previous USC indoor record of 55-8.25 (16.97m) set by Diana Clements in 1986. Tanya Sapa placed eighth with a best mark of 48-7.25 (14.81m) and together with Mann, earned USC nine points.

    Mikaela Smith had a PR of 2:05.94 to place second in the women’s 800m final. Lorea Ibarzabal had a time of 2:10.27 to win her section and place seventh overall. Smith and Ibarzabal earned USC 10 more points.

    Robert Ford won his second consecutive MPSF 800m title by running 1:49.53 to win the final section by .14 seconds. Matthew Myrtue, in his first race as a Trojan, posted a time of 2:00.74 to take third in the first section and 26th overall. Ford earned USC’s men 10 points.

    Dominic Smallwood, who had a PR to take second in the long jump yesterday, had a slight PR today to win the men’s triple jump with a jump of 51-0.75 (15.56m). The jump bettered his eighth-place standing on USC’s all-time indoor list and earned USC 10 more points. After fouling on his first two attempts, he had a clutch jump of 49-0.25 in his third attempt to reach the finals, then posted the three top jumps in the competition.

    Matthew Katnik had a big PR of 64-9.75 (19.75m) in his final shot put attempt to take the lead, but UCLA’s Dotun Ogundeji popped one for 64-11.50 (19.80m) in his final attempt to take the title. Katnik finished second to earn eight points and moved from seventh to second on USC’s all-time list. Nick Ponzio finished 11th with a best mark of 57-2.00 (17.42m).

    Anna Cockrell won her section and placed second overall in the women’s 60m hurldles with a time of 8.11 (8.105) which bettered her fifth-place standing on USC’s all-time list. Dior Hall was second in her section and third overall with a time of 8.11 (8.109), while Jasmyne Graham was third in the same section and fourth overall with a PR of 8.21. Graham bettered her seventh-place standing on USC’s all-time list. They teamed up to earn USC 19 more points.

    • Marquis Morris hit a hurdle but was still able to finish sixth in the men’s 60m hurdles to earn USC’s men’s team three points.

    Deanna Hill was fifth with a time of 7.33, Ky Westbrook seventh at 7.41 and Destinee Brown eighth at 7.46 in the women’s 60m final. The group earned USC seven points.

    Just’N Thymes had a PR of 6.67 in the men’s 60m final to capture the title and earn USC 10 points. That time also betters his fifth-place standing on USC’s all-time list.

    Amalie Iuel tied for 10th in the women’s high jump with a clearance of 5-5.00 (1.65m). • Chloe Berry posted a time of 5:05.85 to place 10th in her heat and 26th overall in the women’s 1-mile race.

    Trent Rule was 13th in his section and 26th overall in the men’s 1-mile race with a time of 4:17.29. Up next will be the NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships to be held in College Station, Texas from March 10-11. The USC outdoor season will begin on March 17-18 when it hosts the Trojan Invitational at Loker Stadium.

    Final MPSF Top 5 Team Results:

    Women: 1.) USC – 125, 2.) Oregon – 105, 3.) Stanford – 57, 4.) UCLA – 52.33, 5.) Colorado – 52

    Men: 1.) Oregon – 89, 2.) USC – 83, 3.) UCLA – 70, 4.) BYU – 65, 5.) Arizona State – 53