USC's Smith Gilbert Named MPSF Women's Coach Of The Year

    Caryl Smith Gilbert was named the MPSF Women's Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.
    March 4, 2015

    USC's Director of Track & Field Caryl Smith Gilbert was named the 2015 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) Women's Track & Field Coach of the Year for the indoor season it was announced today (March 4).

    Smith Gilbert picked up her second consecutive MPSF Women's Coach of the Year award as she has guided the Trojan women to the team title in each of the last two seasons, their first two seasons in the conference. The men's team competed in the MPSF for the first time and placed second. Since taking over the program before the 2013-14 school year, she has already won two MPSF Women's Coach of the Year Awards and the 2014 U.S. Track & Field And Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Outdoor and Indoor West Region Coach of the Year Awards and she hasn't even completed her second indoor season.

    The Trojan women won the team title with 111 points, 22 more than second-place Oregon. Smith Gilbert's women's team captured MPSF event titles in the long jump (Alexis Faulknor), 200m (Deanna Hill), 60m HH (Dior Hall) and the 4x400m relay (Kendall Ellis, Amalie Iuel, Vanessa Jones and Jaide Stepter), which broke the all-time meet record with a nationally-ranked time of 3:33.58.

    USC took the top three places in the women's 200m race with the freshman Hill winning with a time of 23.51, fellow freshman Gabriella Cantrell taking second with a time of 23.81 and sophomore Destinee Brown finishing third with a time of 23.99.



    Another freshman to shine at the MPSF Championships was Hall who won the 60m HH with a time of 8.11. Hall was the only freshman to qualify for the finals.

    The junior Faulknor won the long jump with an indoor PR of 20-5.25 (6.23m).

    The USC women also had four of the top five finishers in the 400m race with all setting personal bests and earning 23 points in the team competition.

    The USC men's and women's team will be competing at the NCAA Indoor Championships in Fayetteville, Ark. from March 13-14.