USC Baseball To Honor 1970-74 NCAA Title Teams Prior To Saturday's Game Vs. California

    May 5, 2014

    Photo Gallery

    LOS ANGELES - USC will celebrate the baseball program's unprecedented five straight national titles, from 1970-9974, prior to the current team's contest vs. California at 2 p.m. on Saturday, May 10.

    2014 marks the 40th anniversary of the fifth title in the streak, the 1974 national title. The five national titles are something that many sports historians believe will never be duplicated. The next-longest streak is two, with five different programs winning two-straight titles since 1947.

    The Trojans lead the nation with 12 Division I NCAA baseball titles, with LSU and Texas sitting in second with six titles apiece.

    Members from each of the four teams, including former major leaguers such as Steve Kemp, Roy Smalley and Dave Kingman are scheduled to be in attendance to celebrate the event, along with George Milke, the 1974 College World Series MVP and Russ McQueen, the 1972 College World Series MVP, and many other notables.