Clay Helton Named 2015 L.A. Sports Council Coach Of Year

    Clay Helton
    Jan. 6, 2016

    Clay Helton, who in 2015 went from USC’s offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach to interim head coach to being named Troy's permanent head coach, was selected as the 2015 Coach of the Year by the Los Angeles Sports Council.

    He will be honored at the 11th Annual LA Sports Awards, which will be held on Feb. 25 at The Beverly Hilton Hotel.

    Recent winners of the Sports Council’s Coach of the Year award include Doc Rivers (Clippers), John Savage (UCLA baseball) and Darryl Sutter (Kings).

    Helton, who has been at USC since 2010, guided the 2015 Trojans to the co-championship of the challenging Pac-12 South Division, a berth in the Pac-12 Championship Game and a trip to the Holiday Bowl.

    As the coordinator of USC’s offense in 2015, the Trojans ranked ninth nationally in fumbles lost (5) , 11th in both passes had intercepted (7) and completion percentage (.667), 16th in fourth down conversions (.654) and 20th in passing efficiency (153.6). USC averaged 437.9 total yards and 33.9 points a game. Quarterback Cody Kessler, a finalist for the Unitas Award, ranked in the national Top 20 in completion percentage (13th at .668), passing TDs (15th at 29) and passing efficiency (19th at 151.7). Kessler ended his career in USC’s career Top 4 in TD passes, completions, passing yards and total offense (and set school career records for completion percentage and interception rate). All-Pac-12 first team wide receiver JuJu Smith-Schuster was in the Top 20 nationally in receiving yards (11th at 103.9), receiving TDs (17th at 10) and receptions (20th at 6.4). Tailbacks Justin Davis and Ronald Jones II each had 900-plus yard rushing seasons. Jones set the USC frosh season rushing record and was just the second Trojan first-year freshman to top the squad in rushing.



    The LA Sports Awards are produced annually by the Sports Council to celebrate the greatest moments of the year in sports in the Los Angeles/Orange County area.

    The star-studded awards gala will be televised by Fox Sports West/Prime Ticket (air dates TBA). The show will include special appearances by some of the athletes whose achievements helped make 2015 a memorable sports year.

    The ceremony also will feature the presentation of the Sportsman, Sportswoman, and Sports Executive of the Year Awards, plus a countdown of the year’s Top 10 moments.