Ed Orgeron Named Semifinalist For Maxwell Club Coach Of The Year

    Ed Orgeron

    Nov. 20, 2013

    USC football interim head coach Ed Orgeron has been named one of 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award.

    Since taking over the Trojan reins after the 2013 season's first five games, Orgeron has guided USC to a 5-1 record, including a 20-17 home win last Saturday over No. 5 Stanford. His only loss was by 4 points at Notre Dame.

    This is Orgeron's 11th overall season at USC (1998-2004, 2010-13), including being on the staff of Troy's 2003 and 2004 national championship teams, and his 29th overall year as a coach. He was Mississippi's head coach for 3 years (2005-07), going 10-25.

    Joining Orgeron as semifinalists this year are Alabama's Nick Saban, Auburn's Gus Malzahn, Baylor's Art Briles, Boston College's Steve Addazio, Clemson's Dabo Swinney, Duke's David Cutcliffe, Fresno State's Tim DeRuyter, Florida State's Jimbo Fisher, Michigan State's Mark Dantonio, Missouri's Gary Pinkel, Northern Illinois' Rod Carey, Ohio State's Urban Meyer, Oklahoma State's Mike Gundy, Central Florda's George O'Leary and Wisconsin's Gary Andersen.

    Semifinalist voting for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award will begin on Nov. 21 and close on Dec. 2. Finalist voting will take place from Dec. 3 to Dec. 15 and the winner will be announced on Dec. 17.

    Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.

    Bill O'Brien of Penn State was the 2012 winner of the award.