Javorius Allen Named USC MVP

    Javorius Allen

    Dec. 13, 2013

    –USC sophomore tailback Javorius Allen was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2013 Trojan football team at the annual awards banquet Friday (Dec. 13) at USC’s Tutor Campus Center Ballroom.

    Allen, who also won the Jack Oakie “Rise and Shine” Award (longest run) and shared USC’s Offensive Perimeter Player of the Year with sophomore wide receiver Nelson Agholor, has 699 rushing yards and 219 receiving yards in 2013. In the last 5 games, he has scored 11 touchdowns while posting a quartet of 100-yard rushing outings.

    Senior outside linebacker Devon Kennard was named USC’s Most Inspirational Player, and he also won the Trojan Football Alumni Club Award (top GPA) while sharing both the Trojan Way Leadership Award with junior linebacker Hayes Pullard and the Co-Lifter of the Year Award with freshman offensive tackle Chad Wheeler.

    Junior center Marcus Martin was named the Offensive Lineman of the Year, soph defensive end Leonard Williams was the Defensive Lineman of the Year, junior cornerback Josh Shaw and junior safety Dion Bailey were the Defensive Perimeter Players of the Year and sophomore fullback Soma Vainuku was the Special Teams Player of the Year.



    A complete list of the 2013 awards:

    Most Valuable Player: tailback Javorius Allen

    Most Inspirational Player: outside linebacker Devon Kennard

    Trojan Way Leadership Award: outside linebacker Devon Kennard, linebacker Hayes Pullard

    Linemen of the Year: center Marcus Martin (offense), defensive end Leonard Williams (defense)

    Perimeter Players of the Year: tailback Javorius Allen and wide receiver Nelson Agholor (offense), cornerback Josh Shaw and safety Dion Bailey (defense)

    Special Teams Player of the Year: fullback Soma Vainuku

    Service Team Players of the Year: quarterback Conner Sullivan (offense), linebacker Nick Schlossberg (defense)

    Jack Oakie “Rise and Shine” Award (year’s longest run): tailback Javorius Allen (79 yards vs. California)

    Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement): outside linebacker Devon Kennard

    Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): quarterback Cody Kessler

    John McKay Award (underclassman with the most competitive spirit): wide receiver Nelson Agholor

    Joe Collins Walk-on Award: tailback Taylor Ross

    Courage Award: tight end Randall Telfer, wide receiver Marqise Lee

    Lifters Award: outside linebacker Devon Kennard, offensive tackle Chad Wheeler

    Team Captains: wide receiver Marqise Lee, linebacker Hayes Pullard, outside linebacker Devon Kennard, center Marcus Martin