Leonard Williams Named USC's MVP

    Leonard Williams
    Dec. 17, 2014

    USC junior defensive end Leonard Williams was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2014 Trojan football team at the annual awards banquet Wednesday (Dec. 17) at USC's Tutor Campus Center Ballroom.

    Williams, a 2-time All-American first teamer who had 71 tackles, including 8.5 for losses (with 6 sacks), and 3 forced fumbles in 2014, also was named USC's Defensive Lineman of the Year.

    Senior tight end Randall Telfer was named USC's Most Inspirational Player. Junior center Max Tuerk was the Offensive Lineman of the Year, junior wide receiver Nelson Agholor was the Offensive Perimeter Player of the Year, sophomore safety-outside linebacker Su'a Cravens was the Defensive Perimeter Player of the Year and sophomore outside linebacker Quinton Powell was the Special Teams Player of the Year.

    Junior quarterback Cody Kessler won the Trojan Way Leadership Award and the Player of the Notre Dame Game Award.

    A complete list of the 2014 awards:

    Most Valuable Player: defensive end Leonard Williams

    Most Inspirational Player: tight end Randall Telfer

    Trojan Way Leadership Award: quarterback Cody Kessler

    Trojan Commitment Award: inside linebacker Hayes Pullard



    Linemen of the Year: center Max Tuerk (offense), defensive end Leonard Williams (defense)

    Perimeter Players of the Year: wide receiver Nelson Agholor (offense), safety-outside linebacker Su'a Cravens (defense)

    Special Teams Player of the Year: outside linebacker Quinton Powell

    Service Team Players of the Year: quarterback Jalen Greene (offense), inside linebacker Reuben Peters (defense)

    Jack Oakie "Rise and Shine" Award (year's longest run): tailback Javorius Allen (53 yards vs. Arizona State)

    Player of the Game Vs.Notre Dame: quarterback Cody Kessler

    Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement): quarterback Anthony Neyer

    Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): offensive tackle Chad Wheeler

    John McKay Award (underclassman with the most competitive spirit): wide receiver JuJu Smith

    Joe Collins Walk-on Award: placekicker Alex Wood

    Chris Carlisle Courage Award: outside linebacker J.R. Tavai

    Community Service Award: tight end Chris Willson

    Lifters Award: quarterback Max Browne, inside linebacker Anthony Sarao

    Team Captains: quarterback Cody Kessler, inside linebacker Hayes Pullard, wide receiver Nelson Agholor, center Max Tuerk, defensive end Leonard Williams