Hoey, Crocker Named To 2017 Ben Hogan Award Watch List

    Junior Sean Crocker
    Feb. 8, 2017

    Senior Rico Hoey and junior Sean Crocker, instrumental in USC’s back-to-back NCAA Championships semifinal appearances as well as to a strong start to the 2016-17 season, are among 28 collegiate golfers named to the 2017 Ben Hogan Award watch list today, according to a joint announcement made by Colonial Country Club, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

    The Ben Hogan Award is issued annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee, which votes during each stage of the process, is comprised of leaders in amateur, collegiate and professional golf.

    Hoey, named to his third straight Ben Hogan Award watch list, boasts a pair of first-place finishes at the Gifford Collegiate and the Amer Ari Invitational as well as a team-best eight rounds under 70. Sporting a 70.12 stroke average, he has four top 10s, all in his last four events. He is a combined 33-under par in his last eight rounds.

    Crocker, on the Ben Hogan Award watch list for the second straight year, leads USC in stroke average at 70.00 and has five top 16 finishes in as many starts this season, including three in the top 10. He has seven rounds under 70 and is a combined 17-under in his last four outings, 16-under on the year.

    Hoey and Crocker are among seven golfers on the watch list from last year. The 2017 Ben Hogan Award watch list, as determined by the award’s subcommittee, also includes: Sam Burns (LSU), Cameron Champ (Texas A&M), Wyndham Clark (Oregon), Jared du Toit (Arizona State), Jorge Garcia (Florida), Doug Ghim (Texas), Gavin Hall (Texas), Nick Hardy (Illinois), Sam Horsfield (Florida), Viktor Hovland (Oklahoma State), Will Long (Auburn), Patrick Martin (Vanderbilt), Maverick McNealy (Stanford), Dylan Meyer (Illinois), Collin Morikawa (California), John Oda (UNLV), Chandler Phillips (Texas A&M), Doc Redman (Clemson), Scottie Scheffler (Texas), Matthias Schwab (Vanderbilt), Greyson Sigg (Georgia), Jimmy Stanger (Virginia), Sam Stevens (Oklahoma State), Braden Thornberry (Ole Miss), Alejandro Tosti (Florida) and Will Zalatoris (Wake Forest).



    The list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 12. On Wednesday, May 3, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The finalists will attend a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, on Monday, May 22, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Dean & DeLuca Invitational, where the winner will be crowned.

    The award was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards. It revised its criteria for the 2001-02 collegiate season to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

    Since that time, the winners have been: D.J. Trahan (Clemson, 2002), Ricky Barnes (Arizona, 2003), Hunter Mahan (Oklahoma State, 2003), Bill Haas (Wake Forest, 2004), Ryan Moore (UNLV, 2005), Matt Every (Florida, 2006), Chris Kirk (Georgia, 2007), Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State, 2008), Kyle Stanley (Clemson, 2009), Nick Taylor (Washington, 2010), Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State, 2011), Patrick Cantlay (UCLA, 2012), Chris Williams (Washington, 2013), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford, 2014) and Jon Rahm (Arizona State, 2015, 2016).