Hoey, Crocker Tabbed As 2017 Jack Nicklaus Award Semifinalists

    Junior Sean Crocker joins senior Rico Hoey as 2017 Jack Nickaus Award semifinalists.
    May 2, 2017

    Senior Rico Hoey and junior Sean Crocker were among 30 Division I golfers tabbed as semifinalists for the 2017 Division I Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, it was announced Tuesday (May 2).

    Division I finalists for the award will be named May 25. Nicklaus Award recipients will be announced June 1 with the honor presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide at Muirfield Village Golf Club.

    Hoey is coming off a tie for second at the Pac-12 Championships, USC’s best finish at the event since 2011, and his fifth top 5 finish this year, third in the top 2. He has a team-best 13 rounds in the 60s and is second on the team in stroke average (70.88). Hoey was a semifinalist in 2016 as well.

    Crocker leads the No. 1 Trojans with a 70.76 stroke average and is tied for second on the team with 11 rounds in the 60s. He has six top 10 finishes and had a streak of eight consecutive tournaments under par snapped at the Pac-12s.

    Division I Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol Semifinalists

    Dawson Armstrong, Lipscomb
    Sam Burns, LSU
    Cameron Champ, Texas A&M
    Wyndham Clark, Oregon
    Sean Crocker, USC
    Cristobal Del Solar, Florida State
    Jared du Toit, Arizona State
    Doug Ghim, Texas
    Nick Hardy, Illinois
    Rico Hoey, USC
    Sam Horsfield, Florida
    Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt
    Patrick Martin, Vanderbilt
    Maverick McNealy, Stanford
    Dylan Meyer, Illinois
    Collin Morikawa, California
    Kyle Mueller, Michigan
    John Oda, UNLV
    Zachary Olsen, Oklahoma State
    Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M
    Doc Redman, Clemson
    Matthias Schwab, Vanderbilt
    Greyson Sigg, Georgia
    Jimmy Stanger, Virginia
    Sahith Theegala, Pepperdine
    Braden Thornberry, Mississippi
    Alejandro Tosti, Florida
    Dylan Wu, Northwestern
    Norman Xiong, Oregon
    Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest