USC Leads All With Four Selections To Pac-12 Men's Golf All-Century Team

    Craig Stadler and three other fellow Trojans are on the Pac-12 All-Century Team.
    May 3, 2016

    USC had a conference-high four selections on the Pac-12's Men's Golf All-Century team -- Scott Simpson, Sam Randolph, Craig Stadler and Dave Stockton -- the Pac-12 announced Monday night while the Pac-12's Coach of the Century, Randy Lein, directed the Trojans for almost a decade as well.

    The 12-member Men's Golf All-Century Team was voted on by a panel of 30 consisting of coaches, players, administrators and members of the media. Each member of the chosen based on their collegiate careers in the Conference.

    USC's four selections were followed by Stanford (3), Arizona (2), Arizona State (2) and UCLA with one. Out of 70 total nominees, the players named to the team have won 14 College Player of the Year Awards, 6 NCAA individual titles, 34 Majors and 10 Masters. In all, there are 374 professional wins from members of the team.

    Lein coached with USC from 1984-92 and Arizona State from 1993-2011, was named the Pac-12 Men's Golf Coach of the Century. He has won Pacific-10 Conference Coach of the Year honors five times at ASU and also twice while at USC. Lein is part of the Golf Coaches Association of America Hall of Fame and the Arizona State Hall of Fame.

    Stadler was a four-time All-American for the Trojans, earning first-team status in 1973 and 1974 and second-team in 1972 and 1975. He helped USC win conference titles in 1972-73-75. Known affectionately as "The Walrus", Stadler had a long and successful career on the PGA Tour, where he won 13 PGA Tour events, including the 1982 Masters. Stadler also received the PGA Arnold Palmer Award as the tour's leading money winner in 1982. After winning the 1973 U.S. Amateur Championship and earning All-American honors four consecutive years at USC, Stadler went on to earn over $11 million on the PGA tour and crack the Top 15 on the all-time career money list during his time.

    Simpson was a two-time and back-to-back NCAA individual champion in 1976-77 and a two-time first team All-American those same years before going onto an illustrious pro career. Simpson won the prestigious Haskins Award (the Heisman for men's golf) after capturing the second of his back-to-back NCAA championship crowns in 1977. Simpson, helped USC to three top 5 NCAA finishes and was a second-team All-American in 1975. He was the 1976 and 1977 Pac-12 Golfer of the Year and led the Trojans to the 1975 and 1977 Pac-12 titles. Simpson also won back-to-back Pac-12 titles in 1975 and 1976. He went on to compete on the U.S. Walker Cup team in 1977 before turning pro. Simpson had his biggest year on the PGA Tour in 1993, earning $707,166 while winning the GTE Byron Nelson Classic. In 1987, he finished No. 4 on the money list, earning more than $620,000, and joined an elite group when he captured the U.S. Open at San Francisco's Olympic Club.



    Stockton, who earned a reputation as one of the golf world's best putters, was the 1963 Pac-12 individual champion and a three-time All-American between 1961-63. Stockton won 25 titles on the PGA and Senior PGA Tours, including the 1996 U.S. Senior Open, posting career earnings of more than $9.5 million, which ranked him, at one point, No. 6 on the all-time money list. Stockton joined the tour in 1964 and won the 1970 and 1976 PGA Championships. Before joining the Senior Tour in 1991, Stockton logged 11 PGA Tour victories. Upon joining the Senior Tour in 1991, he earned Rookie of the Year honors. In 1993, he dominated the Senior Tour, winning five tournaments.

    Randolph, a two-time Pac-12 Golfer of the Year, was just USC's second three-time All-American first teamer and won the prestigious 1986 Haskins Award after his NCAA runner-up finish and 1986 U.S. Men's Amateur title. Randolph, who won an amazing 12 titles while at USC, also competed on the '85 U.S. Walker Cup team before going onto a productive pro career. He was the 1983 Pac-12 co-champion and led USC to Pac-12 team titles in 1984 and 1986, earning Pac-10 Golfer of the Year honors both years.

    The Pac-12 Men's Golfer of the Century, Phil Mickelson, was with the Sun Devils from 1989-1992. With ASU, Mickelson was one of only four players to be named first-team All-American for four years. He won a school record 16 tournaments, including NCAA titles in 1989, 1990 and 1992, and was named Pac- 10 Player of the Year three times (1990-92). Also a U.S. Walker Cup member in 1989 and 1991, Mickelson was the U.S. Amateur champion in 1990, and was the only player to win outright NCAA crowns in freshman and sophomore seasons.

    See below for the complete teams:

    Pac-12 Men's Golf All-Century Team
    Phil Mickelson -- Arizona State, 1989-92
    Tiger Woods -- Stanford, 1995-96
    Scott Simpson -- USC, 1974-77
    Tom Watson -- Stanford, 1969-71
    Paul Casey -- Arizona State, 1998-00
    Corey Pavin -- UCLA, 1978-80, 82
    Jim Furyk -- Arizona, 1989-1992
    Patrick Rodgers -- Stanford, 2012-14
    Sam Randolph -- USC, 1983-86
    Craig Stadler -- USC, 1972-75
    Ricky Barnes -- Arizona, 2000-03
    Dave Stockton -- USC, 1961-63

    Randy Lein -- USC, 1984-92; Arizona State, 1993-2011

    Phil Mickelson -- Arizona State, 1989-92