USC Men's Golf Advances To Championship Match Of Cypress Point Classic

    Jonah Texeira
    Oct. 31, 2016

    No. 12 USC defeated Alabama, 9.5-2.5, and then tied UCLA, 6-6, during the opening two rounds of the Stanford Cypress Point Classic on Monday (Oct. 31) in Pebble Beach, Calif., but the Trojans won the tiebreaker over the Bruins to advance to face No. 29 Georgia Tech in the championship match on Tuesday.

    Within the eight-team bracket, each school employed three two-player teams in both the morning round of Four Ball (best ball) as well as the afternoon Foursome (alternate shot) matches. Four points were available for each match (one point each for each nine as well as two points for the overall match).

    Senior Andrew Levitt combined with sophomore Justin Suh to lead USC's morning wave, capturing all four available points against the Crimson Tide's Steven Setterstrom and Robby Prater. The USC junior tandem of Sean Crocker and Jonah Texeira totaled 3.5 points against Tyler Hitchner and Josh Sedeno (halving the front) while senior Rico Hoey and freshman Cheng Jin scored two points against David Riley and Lee Hodges, winning the front and halving the overall.

    Against the Bruins, Crocker and Texeira swept their match by winning all four points. USC's other duos captured just a point each, as Hoey and Jin won the front while falling to UCLA's Cole Madey and Spencer Soosman and Levitt and Suh captured the back while losing to Matt Hutchins and Hidetoshi Yoshihara. But USC advanced based on the second tiebreaker of total number of back nine holes won by each side over the full 18 holes (the first tiebreaker was total number of holes won).



    Final round action -- six individual match play matches -- is set for Tuesday beginning at 8 a.m. Georgia Tech moved into the final with victories over 14th-ranked Georgia in the first round and sixth-ranked Stanford in the second round.

    USC is looking for its first fall tournament victory of the 2016-17 season after getting Top 10 finishes in its first three tourneys.