USC's Matt Anger Named To ITA Hall of Fame

    Matt Anger was a four-time ITA All-American as a Trojan.

    May 23, 2014

    Former USC tennis player Matt Anger was inducted into the ITA Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame for his outstanding achievements on the court. Anger is the Trojans' first inductee since 2003 and the 15th Trojan all-time to have his name in the ITA Men's Hall of Fame. Anger is one of seven 2014 inductees who were honored on May 21 at the ITA Men's Collegiate Hall of Fame Enshrinement Banquet in Athens, Ga.

    Anger's accomplishments on the court were phenomenal throughout his career. One year prior to his arrival at USC, Anger won a singles title at Junior Wimbledon 1981. Moreover, he was ranked as the most promising young player in the world by Tennis Magazine. He'd go on to become a four-time ITA All-American (three singles, one doubles) in three seasons as a Trojan.

    During Anger's collegiate tennis career with the Trojans from 1982-84, he led the team to a top-five finish in three consecutive years. In 1983, Anger reached the Pac-10 men's singles final, and helped USC to reached the 1983 NCAA Team semifinals. In his last season as a Trojan, Anger guided the team to the Pac-10 title and won the 1984 Pac-10 Doubles Championship for himself.

    Two years after entering the professional tennis world following his junior year, Anger was ranked 23rd in the ATP singles rankings. Anger reached the Round of 16 at both the U.S. Open and Wimbledon in 1986, advanced to the third round of the Australian Open in 1985 and 1987 and to the third round at Wimbledon in 1987. His eight years of professional tennis was full of highlights including wins against top players such as Pete Sampras, Boris Becker and Mats Wilander. Also at the pro level, Anger won one singles and two doubles titles.

    Anger is now the head men's tennis coach at Washington. Under his guidance since 1995, the Huskies have reached the NCAA Round of 16 five times and improved the team's national ranking to No. 12 in 2003. In 2005, Anger led the Huskies to their first-ever Pac-10 title, and was recognized as the Pac-10 Coach of the Year.



    Players are eligible to the ITA Hall of Fame 15 years after their last collegiate match and coaches are eligible after their retirement. Every year, the nominees' accomplishments are recognized at the award ceremony housed at the University of Georgia's Dan Magill Tennis complex in Athens.

    The ITA Men's Tennis Hall of Fame was inaugurated in 1983 and has inducted more than 200 players, coaches and contributors. USC's inducted members include player and coach Toley (1940-41, 1954-80), and players Gene Mako (1934-37), Joe Hunt (1938), Bob Falkenburg (1946), Alex Olmedo (1956-58), Ramsey Earnhart (1961-63), Rafael Osuna (1961-63), Dennis Ralston (1962-64), Stan Smith (1966-68), Bob Lutz (1967-69), Rick Leach (1984-87) and 2014 inductee Matt Anger (1982-84).

    For more information, visit