Bricio and de Vroome Receive Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medals

    June 28, 2016

    SAN FRANCISCO -- USC seniors Max de Vroome and Samantha Bricio were each awarded 2015-16 Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medals as announced by the league on Tuesday, June 28. Bricio, an outside hitter for the women's volleyball team, and de Vroome of the men's tennis team, are each considered the Trojans' most outstanding male and female student-athletes based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics, and leadership.

    Bricio's illustrious career includes honors as the 2015 Honda Sports Award winner, and the prestigious Latino Spirit Award. She was the 2015 AVCA National Player of the Year and a three-time AVCA All-American after earning first-team honors this season. Bricio was also named the Pac-12 Player of the Year, and was the National Player of the Year for espnW, Volleyball Magazine,, and HERO Sports. During her career, she helped lead the Women of Troy to four consecutive NCAA tournament appearances including three regional championship matches. In 2015, she served as the team captain and led the Trojans to a share of the Pac-12 title, the program's first league crown since 2011.

    In her senior season, Bricio was the NCAA's statistical champion in four categories as she led the nation in points (803.0), points per set (6.18), service aces (89), and aces per set (0.68). She holds four career records at USC: kills (2,095), attacks (5,499), service aces (301), and points (2,546.5). She is also the Pac-12 record holder for aces, is fifth in league history for kills, and third for attacks. Bricio set a single-season league-record with six Pac-12 Player of the Week awards and finished with nine total (second in league history). She graduated in May with a degree in psychology from the USC Dana and David Dornsife College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences.

    Also crowned the Pac-12 Men's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year, de Vroome secured his place in USC history as a sophomore when his heroic singles victory clinched the Trojans' fifth NCAA crown in a six-year span. At the close of his senior season, de Vroome earned All-Pac-12 first-team honors and was honored as the ITA Southwest Region Senior Player of the Year. He won the Southern California Intercollegiate singles crown last fall and helped guide the Trojans to their 10th-consecutive NCAA appearance. Along the way, de Vroome clinched four dual wins and worked his way to a career-best singles ranking at No. 18. For the first time in his career, de Vroome earned a berth in the NCAA singles draw, and closed his senior campaign with a 28-12 overall singles record (11-7 in duals). After four years, de Vroome completed his USC career with an overall singles record of 109-42 and ranked No. 24 in the nation. In doubles, de Vroome had a career record of 87-44.

    Academically, de Vroome was a 2016 Pac-12 All-Academic First Team selection and a two-time honorable mention recipient previously. He was a 2015 ITA Scholar-Athlete, and garnered a 2016 Pac-12 Post-Graduate Scholarship. His 3.58 GPA and ambition as a business administration major has helped de Vroome consistently collect Pac-12 All-Academic honors while standing out with the top GPA on his team. The senior was also named to the 2016 CoSIDA Academic All-District At-Large Team and has been an active participant in the annual Rose Cup event, hosted at USC to raise money and awareness for breast cancer, and has participated in the Community Bowl service event.

    Conference medal winners have been named every year since the 1960-61 academic year. In 2009, the Pac-12 renamed the award the Tom Hansen Conference Medal in honor of Hansen, who retired at the end of June 2009 after serving for 26 years as the Commissioner of the Pac-10.

    Each Pac-12 member institution has one male and one female student-athlete chosen to receive the Conference Medal. On Thursday, July 6, at 7 p.m. PT (8 p.m. MT), Pac-12 Networks will air Pride of the Pac, a one-hour special honoring the 24 recipients of the prestigious Tom Hansen Conference Medal. For more information, please visit