60th Southern California Intercollegiate Championships Sets Up At Marks Stadium

    Oct. 25, 2016

    The 60th edition of the Southern California Intercollegiate Championships comes to Troy this week as men’s tennis players converge on Marks Stadium for competition running Oct. 27-31. The long-standing collegiate tennis event dates back to 1957, when SoCal tennis powers USC and UCLA each captured inaugural trophies. USC’s Alex Olmedo won the very first singles title, and Bruins Myron Franks and Michael Green grabbed the doubles title that year.

    This year, 12 programs will be represented at the event, including California schools Azusa Pacific, Cal Poly, Concordia, LMU, Pepperdine, UCLA, UC Santa Barbara, UC San Diego and USC. Out-of-state tennis powers BYU, Hawai’i and Texas Tech will also make the trip to Troy to participate in this year’s SoCal Intercollegiates.

    Schedule and draws will be available throughout the event at the Tournament Central page.