Dvorak, Timmons, Ivie Named To Inaugural Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall Of Fame Class

    Dusty Dvorak
    Jan. 4, 2017

    Former USC men's volleyball greats Dusty Dvorak, Steve Timmons and Bryan Ivie have been named to the inaugural class of the Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame.

    The induction ceremony will be held on May 7 at the Highway 39 Event Center in Anaheim.

    The Hall of Fame will be housed at the American Sports Centers (ASC) in Anaheim, where the USA Men's and Women's National Teams train.

    Dvorak, Timmons and Ivie are part of a 25-member inaugural SCIVBHOF class that also includes former Women of Troy greats Debbie Green and Paula Weishoff.

    All five Trojans won national team titles at USC and medals in the Olympics.

    Timmons and Dvorak were starters on the first USA Olympic Gold Medal team in 1984 in Los Angeles and also key members of USC's second NCAA title team in 1980 that beat UCLA in the finals. Timmons was also a starter on the 1988 USA Gold Medal team from Seoul. Ivie won a bronze medal in Barcelona in 1992 after leading USC to NCAA titles in 1988 and 1990.

    Green was a dominating setter, who lost one match in two years in guiding the Trojans to AIAW titles in 1976 and 1977 and then won a silver medal at the 1984 Olympics in Los Angeles. Weishoff was the MVP of the 1980 AIAW championships in her lone college playing season as USC won the title. She was part of the 1984, 1992 and 1996 USA Olympic teams, winning a silver and bronze.

    Overall, the inductees into this first SCIVBHOF class includes more than 100 combined Olympic medals, NCAA, AIAW & USVBA Titles and numerous United States Volleyball Association (USAV) honors from the 1950s into the 2000s.

    Joining the five Trojans in the inaugural class are: Andy Banachowski, Laurel Brassey Iversen, Craig Buck, Deitre Collins-Parker, Tara Cross-Battle, Bob Ctvrtlik, Marv Dunphy, Rolf Engen, Kathy Gregory, Karch Kiraly, Ricci Luyties, Chris Marlowe, Misty May-Treanor, Kim Oden, Mike O'Hara, Doug Partie, Al Scates, Gene Selznick, Sinjin Smith and Jeff Stork.