Four Trojans To Lead U.S. Volleyball Team Versus Iran Saturday At Galen

    Riley McKibbin, Murphy Troy, Tony Ciarelli (l to r).
    Aug. 7, 2014

    USC senior setter Micah Christenson and former Trojan volleyball greats Murphy Troy, Tony Ciarelli and Riley McKibbin will return home to the Galen Center to lead the U.S. Men’s National Team in a match against Iran this Saturday (Aug. 9) at 7 p.m.

    The match is the first of four exhibition matches that comprise the USA Volleyball Cup, pitting the world’s No. 4-ranked U.S. team against No. 11 Iran.

    For tickets, go HERE

    The U.S. men recently won the FIVB World League championship, while two-time Asian zonal champion Iran advanced to the World League final round where it defeated No. 1 Brazil. The U.S. lost to Iran at the 2013 FIVB Grand Champions Cup, but then defeated it in the 2014 World League final round. The United States has a 3-1 record against Iran since 1980. The four matches will help both teams prepare for the 2014 FIVB Men’s World Championship Aug. 30-Sept. 21 in Poland.

    USC has more players represented on the 14-man U.S. roster than any other school. Also on the roster is a trio of 2012 Olympians: outside hitter Matt Anderson and middle blockers Russell Holmes and David Smith.

    The other USA Volleyball Cup matches will be held on Aug. 13 at the Anaheim Convention Center at 7 p.m., on Aug. 15 at San Diego State at 7 p.m. and on Aug. 16 at UC Irvine’s Bren Center at 6 p.m.

    Christenson was the starting setter on the 2014 U.S. FIVB World League champion squad. He also was the U.S. starter in the summer of 2013 at the NORCECA Continental Championships and FIVB Grand Champions Cup. He was a 2014 All-American first teamer when he won the inaugural Off The Block Lloy Ball Award, presented to the nation's top collegiate setter.



    Ciarelli led USC to a trio of NCAA Final Four appearances (in 2009, 2011 and 2012). He was an All-American first teamer in 2012 when he was named the National Player of the Year. Troy and McKibbin helped USC to the 2009 and 2011 NCAA Final Fours. Troy was an All-American first team pick both years (he was the 2011 National Player of the Year), while McKibbin was an All-American first teamer in 2011.