USC's McQuin Baron Wins Peter J. Cutino Award

    June 4, 2017

    USC goalie McQuin Baron becomes the fifth Trojan man to win collegiate water polo's highest honor -- the Peter J. Cutino Award -- after his selection as the 2016 male recipient last night (June 3) at the Olympic Club in San Francisco. McQuin was one of four male finalists for the award, joined by fellow Trojan Blake Edwards and UCLA's Garrett Danner and Ryder Roberts. Baron follows in the footsteps of four previous USC male winners: Juraj Zatovic (2005), J.W. Krumpholz (2008 & 2009), Joel Dennerley (2011) and Kostas Genidounias (2014).

    A 2016 Olympian for Team USA, junior goalie McQuin Baron rejoined his Trojan teammates in time to kick off the 2016 campaign. Early in the year, Baron would climb up to rank No. 2 all-time at USC in career saves, and he'd continue to add to that count as the season progressed and the Trojans worked their way to the NCAA final for the 12th consecutive season. With 247 saves collected in 2016 -- sixth most in a single season by a Trojan -- Baron padded out his career count to 817. That places him just 38 saves away from the No. 1 spot currently held by two-time Olympian and 2011 Cutino Award winner Joel Dennerley, who won four straight national championships as a Trojan. This year with the Trojans, Baron averaged a whopping 11.62 saves per game while allowing only 4.47 goals-against per game. Named the MPSF Tournament MVP, Baron also claim All-MPSF First Team honors along with a spot on the NCAA All-Tournament Second Team and an MPSF Player of the Week selection. USC's backbone on defense, Baron had double-digit saves performances in 13 games, including a career-high 19 saves collected in the NCAA title match.



    The Cutino Award is given annually in honor of the late Peter J. Cutino, the former University of California Berkeley and The Olympic Club coach, who passed away in September 2004. Mr. Cutino is in the U.S. Water Polo Hall of Fame. He won "Water Polo Coach of the Year" 17 times. He led UC Berkeley to eight NCAA National Championships. In his career Mr. Cutino also coached in the Olympic Games, the Pan American Games, the Water Polo World Championships and the World University Games.

    USC's string of men's Cutino Award finalists stands at nine Trojans: Juraj Zatovic (2004-05 & 2005-06), Juan Delgadillo (2006-07), Adam Shilling (2007-08), J.W. Krumpholz (2008-09 & 2009-10), Joel Dennerley (2010-11 & 2011-12), Nikola Vavic (2012-13 & 2013-14), Kostas Genidounias (2013-14 & 2014-15), McQuin Baron (2016-17), Blake Edwards (2016-17).

    All-time Peter J. Cutino Award winners:
    1998-99 - Bernice Orwig (USC)
    1999-2000 - Sean Kern (UCLA) & Aniko Pelle (USC) 
    2000-01 - Sean Kern (UCLA) & Coralie Simmons (UCLA) 
    2001-02 - Tony Azevedo (Stanford) & Brenda Villa (Stanford) 
    2002-03 - Tony Azevedo (Stanford) & Jackie Frank (Stanford) 
    2003-04 - Tony Azevedo (Stanford) & Moriah Van Norman (USC) 
    2004-05 - Tony Azevedo (Stanford) & Natalie Golda (UCLA) 
    2005-06 - Juraj Zatovic (USC) & Lauren Wenger (USC) 
    2006-07 - John Mann (Cal) & Kelly Rulon (UCLA) 
    2007-08 - Tim Hutten (UC Irvine) & Courtney Mathewson (UCLA) 
    2008-09 - J.W. Krumpholz (USC) & Kami Craig (USC) 
    2009-10 - J.W. Krumpholz (USC) & Kami Craig (USC) 
    2010-11 - Ivan Rackov (California) & Annika Dries (Stanford)
    2011-12 - Joel Dennerley (USC) & Kiley Neushel (Stanford) 
    2012-13 - Balazs Erdelyi (Pacific) & Melissa Seidemann (Stanford) 
    2013-14 - Balazs Erdelyi (Pacific) & Annika Dries (Stanford)
    2014-15 - Kostas Genidounias (USC) & Kiley Neushel (Stanford) 
    2015-16 - Garrett Danner (UCLA) & Stephania Haralabidis (USC) 
    2016-17 - McQuin Baron (USC) & Ashleigh Johnson (Princeton)