No. 1 USC Earns Top Seed In NCAA St. George Regional

    April 27, 2015

    The No. 1 USC women's golf team, a four-time winner this year and a three-time NCAA champion, will begin its quest for its fourth national crown as the No. 1 seed in the NCAA St. George (Utah) regional, the NCAA announced Monday (April 27).

    The Trojans, who have won an NCAA best 10 regionals and whose active streak of nine consecutive NCAA top 5 finishes leads the country, will look for their NCAA-best sixth consecutive regional victory at the Tumble Creek Club at Entrada at Snow Canyon Country Club in St. George, hosted by BYU.

    While 72 teams remain in the field, the NCAA has expanded the regionals to four locations with 18 schools at each site, set for three rounds of competition, May 7-9. The other sites include Lonnie Poole G.C. in Raleigh, N.C. (North Carolina State host), Briggs Ranch G.C. in San Antonio, Texas (UTSA host) and Warren G.C. in South Bend, Ind. (Notre Dame host).

    The top six teams plus the top three individuals from each field will advance to the championship round, scheduled for May 22-27 at Concession G.C. in Bradenton, Fla. After three rounds, the cut will be made to the top 15 teams and nine individuals. An individual champion will be named after the fourth round while the top eight teams will advance to match play quarterfinals and semifinals on May 26. The final is on May 27.

    Nine Pac-12 schools earned NCAA bids today, including fellow top seeds UCLA and Arizona. Stanford, Colorado and Cal will join USC in Utah while the other three Pac-12 schools to earn berths include Washington, Arizona State and Oregon.

    The Trojans have won an NCAA-best 10 regional titles, including five in a row and in eight of the past nine seasons. The past eight came in 2006 (Central), 2007 (Central), 2008 (West), 2010 (Central), 2011 (West), 2012 (Central), 2013 (West) and 2014 (West). USC is looking to advance out of the NCAA Regional for the 18th year in a row in its 24th consecutive NCAA appearance (the last 18 under 19th-year Head Coach Andrea Gaston).