Johns, Michael, and Sutton Named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

    USCTrojansLax on Twitter  USCTrojansLax on Instagram

    Follow, Like, and Insta with @USCTrojansLax

    Feb. 28, 2017

    NEW YORK -- The Tewaaraton Foundation announced the 2017 Tewaaraton Award women's watch list on Tuesday, Feb. 28, which included three USC lacrosse student-athletes. Junior goaltender Gussie Johns (Washington, D.C./St. Stephens & St. Agnes School), senior attacker Michaela Michael (Hillsborough, Calif./Menlo School), and junior defender Lydia Sutton (Minnetonka, Minn./The Blake School) were among the 50 players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse highlighted as early contenders for the 2017 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour.

    "It's going to be another exciting year, our 17th for the Tewaaraton Award," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. "On one hand, we have our 2016 men's winner in Dylan Molloy returning, and on the women's side, Taylor Cummings has graduated after winning a record three straight. We can't wait to see who emerges this year and gets invited to Washington, D.C., in early June."

    Last year, Michael was named to the watch list with former USC All-American midfielder Amanda Johansen. Michael was later selected to the 25-player list of nominees and was joined by 2016 MPSF Player of the Year Courtney Tarleton. This season, through four games, Michael ranks second in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) in draw controls (8.25 dcpg) and is sixth in points at 3.50 ppg. Johns leads the conference with 4.50 ground balls per game and is second in save percentage at .534. She was named the conference's Defensive Player of the Week last week. Sutton ranks eighth in the league with 1.67 caused turnovers per game.

    The Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour, annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation. Players not named to the initial lists have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 16 and April 6. On April 27, the field will be narrowed to 25 nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions.

    The five men's and women's finalists will be announced on May 11 and will be invited to the ceremony. The 17th-annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C., on June 1, 2017. For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation or to attend this exciting event, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

    The No. 4-ranked Trojans (3-1) play their next game on Wednesday (March 8) as host to Boston University (1-2). USC will draw against the Terriers at 2 p.m. PT on McAlister Field. For more information on the USC women's lacrosse team, a complete schedule, and results, please visit Fans of the Women of Troy can follow the team on Instagram and on Twitter @USCTrojansLax.

    # # #

    Media Contact
    Sarah Aschenbach
    The Tewaaraton Foundation
    (202) 255-1485