USC Set to Host 2017 MPSF Lacrosse Tournament at McAlister Field

    USCTrojansLax on Twitter  USCTrojansLax on Instagram

    Follow, Like, and Insta with @USCTrojansLax


    April 23, 2017

    LOS ANGELES -- The top-seeded USC lacrosse program will host the 2017 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation's lacrosse tournament at McAlister Field, Thursday through Sunday (April 27-30). The tourney's winner will receive the league's automatic qualifier bid into the NCAA championship tournament.

    A complete schedule, links to live stats via GameTracker, results, and information on the participating teams can be found at the tournament home page at All games will be streamed live on

    Tickets for individual games are $10 for adults and $5 for students, youth, and seniors. Children under the age of two receive free admission. The youth price is for children over the age of two through high school. Students must present valid college identification. Tickets will be sold on a day-of basis only and only cash is accepted. Parking is available at USC's campus lots at the regular daily rate of $12 per vehicle. The two most accessible lots to McAlister Field are the USC Shrine Structure and Parking Structure D (Royal Street Structure).

    The three-day tournament features the top six finishers in the MPSF's regular-season standings. Undefeated for the second consecutive season, the eighth-ranked Women of Troy (8-0) grabbed the top seed. No. 6-ranked Colorado finished 7-1 in second place and holds the second seed. Both USC and Colorado receive first-round byes.

    Third-seeded Stanford (6-2) suffered its only two losses to the Trojans and the Buffaloes. Oregon (5-3) is the fourth seed and is followed by fifth-seeded San Diego State (3-5) and sixth-seeded California (3-5). SDSU defeated Cal in the teams' head-to-head meeting to take the seeding tiebreaker.

    Quarterfinal games are set for noon and 4 p.m. PT on Thursday (April 27). In the first game (noon), No. 3 Stanford takes on No. 6 California. The winner will advance to take on No. 2 Colorado in one semifinal game. In the second quarterfinal, No. 4 Oregon will play No. 5 San Diego State at 4 p.m. The winner will move on to face No. 1 USC in the semifinals.

    USC will play in the first semifinal game at noon PT on Friday (April 28). Colorado plays in the second at 4 p.m. The winners of each of those games will move on to play in the championship game set for 1 p.m. PT on Sunday, April 30.

    The Trojans host the 2017 MPSF tournament by virtue of their finish atop the 2016 regular-season standings. This is, however, the final MPSF tournament as USC, California, Colorado, Oregon, and Stanford begin play as part of the Pac-12 in 2018 along with the newest program, Arizona State.

    In its charter season, USC was selected to finish seventh in the league standings by the MPSF's head coaches, but shocked pundits by claiming the fourth seed in the 2013 MPSF tournament. The Trojans fell to Denver in the semifinals, but returned to the tournament the following season to play in the quarterfinals where they dropped a one-goal decision to Oregon. In 2015, the Women of Troy advanced to their first tournament title game but fell to Stanford. The Trojans broke through in 2016 and won both the regular season and the MPSF tournament championships.

    For more information on the USC women's lacrosse team, a complete schedule, and results, please visit Fans of the Women of Troy can follow the team on Instagram and on Twitter @USCTrojansLax.