Trojan Lacrosse to Host First-Ever West Coast NCAA Tournament Games

    Michaela Michael and the Trojans open up NCAA Tournament play on May 15 at noon.

    USCTrojansLax on Twitter  USCTrojansLax on Instagram

    Follow, Like, and Insta with @USCTrojansLax

    May 8, 2016

    INDIANAPOLIS -- The fifth-ranked USC lacrosse team (19-0) received the No. 5 seed in the 2016 NCAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship and will host the first-ever NCAA tournament games to be held on the west coast in the historic Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on Friday (May 13) and Sunday (May 15).

    The Women of Troy received the five seed and with it, a first-round bye. Ninth-ranked Stanford (14-4) and James Madison (10-9) will meet in a first-round game on Friday, May 13, at 3 p.m. PT. The winner of the game will play the Trojans at 12 p.m. on Sunday, May 15. Both games will be streamed live on USC's Pac-12 stream portal at

    USC holds the automatic bid into the NCAA tournament as champion of the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation and makes its second consecutive appearance in the NCAA's postseason tourney. The Trojans are one of just two undefeated teams heading into the tournament with No. 1-ranked and top-seeded Maryland (19-0).

    The other six seeds went to No. 1 Maryland (19-0), No. 2 Florida (18-1), No. 3 North Carolina (16-2), No. 4 Syracuse (17-5), No. 6 Notre Dame (13-6), No. 7 Penn (13-4), and No. 8 Cornell (13-4). The Terrapins are the two-time defending national champions and winners of 12 NCAA titles all-time. Northwestern holds seven NCAA crowns and won all seven in the last 11 years. Princeton and Virginia each hold three championships with Penn State and Temple with two each. Delaware, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, North Carolina, and Harvard each own one title.

    The furthest west NCAA tournament games had previously been played was in Evanston, Ill., with host Northwestern.

    USC has won an MPSF-record 19 straight games and tied the league record for wins in a season (Denver, 2014). The Trojans' victory in the MPSF title game cemented the first time that any team from the conference completed the season and the league tournament undefeated. It also marked the 50th-career win for fourth-year head coach Lindsey Munday. The Trojans' roster features the MPSF Player of the Year in senior defender Courtney Tarleton, who is also a nominee for the Tewaaraton Award with junior attacker Michaela Michael (2014 MPSF Player of the Year).

    Last year, the Trojans received an at-large bid into the tournament and were sent to Durham, N.C., to face James Madison in the first round. USC surprised the field by taking out the Dukes, 13-10, to set up a meeting with fifth-ranked host Duke. The Trojans came up on the short end of a 17-9 decision to bow out of their first NCAA appearance.

    Tickets are $10 for general admission and $5 for guests with valid student IDs. Only cash is accepted at the Coliseum box office at gate four (on the south side of the stadium). Fans planning to attend games at the LA Coliseum are advised to observe the venue's newly-implemented bag policy. To provide a safer environment for the public and significantly expedite guest entry into the venue, USC and the Coliseum enacted a new clear-bag policy that limits the size and types of bags that may be brought into the Coliseum for all events. For detailed information and a list and description of permissible bags, please visit

    For more information on the USC women's lacrosse team, please visit Fans of the Women of Troy can follow the team on Instagram and on Twitter @USCTrojansLax.