No. 8 USC Outruns No. 12 UCLA in Annual Dual

    The USC varsity eight remained undefeated in the UCLA dual with its win today.

    Twitter bird logo Follow @USCWomensRowing on Twitter

    May 3, 2014

    Post-Race Quotes

    SAN PEDRO, Calif. - The eighth-ranked USC women's rowing team continued its dominance in the crosstown rivalry with No. 12 UCLA as the Women of Troy claimed a dual win over the Bruins at the Port of Los Angeles on Saturday, May 3. The victory is the Trojans' 13th straight in the all-time series dating back to the dual's first running in 2002.

    Though it was a non-scoring race, the Women of Troy started the day with the first win as their second varsity four outpaced their Bruin counterparts by nearly 15 seconds to win with a time of 7:54.60 to 8:08.70. The 2V4 was coxed by Shelby Penfield, with Erica Christianson at stroke followed by Erika Blumberga, Michelle Popelka, and Elaine Krebs.

    The Trojan varsity four scored the first point of the day when it registered a time of 7:39.30 to beat UCLA's 7:51.10 finish. Freshman coxswain Kaelyn Ibold called USC's race with co-captain Katherine Gleadow at the stroke seat. Gleadow was followed by Sara Bilimoria, Kamali Houston, and Shelby Adair in the bow seat.

    UCLA went ahead in the point tally when its second varsity eight ran down the course to finish at 6:47.20. The Bruins' 2V8 beat the Trojans by seven seconds (6:54.20) to give UCLA a 2-1 lead in the dual momentarily. Junior Kellyn Freire coxed the USC 2V8. Rebecca Shaffer sat at stroke followed by co-captain Lindsay Gibson, Darian DiCianno, Kajsa Olsson, Jelena Miladinovic, Frederike Hackenbroch, Gitta Kivilaan, and Eglit Vosu in the bow seat.

    When it came down to it, the Women of Troy came through with a victory in the top boat as the Trojans put in a time of 6:36.30 to beat the Bruins (6:47.20) with considerable open water. Each of UCLA's varsity eight boats produced the same final time. USC's varsity eight was coxed by Paige Fernandes. Senior All-American Vineta Moca held the stroke seat and was followed by Krisztina Gyimes, Madara Strautmane, Keret Einaste, Madelyn Walters, Elizabeth Turner, Deirdre Fitzpatrick, and Svenja Jonas. The V8 win clinched the dual victory for USC, which took a 4-2 lead. The Trojan varsity eight has never lost to UCLA in the head-to-head dual.

    The Bruins scored the final point of the dual with a win from its novice crew. The Bruins (7:05.80) beat the Trojans (7:34.10) in the last race of the day to make the final score, 4-3, for USC. Aly Scharpf coxed the novice crew, which was stroked by Marygail Dibuono. Erika Blumberga sat in the seventh seat and was followed by Brianna Morris, Karina Batek, Sophia Mitropoulos, Megan Linney, Lauren Hanano, and Anu Rajendran in the bow.

    The Women of Troy will now turn their attention to preparations for the 2014 Pac-12 Championships set for Sunday, May 18, on the waters of Lake Natoma, in Gold River, Calif. In 2013, the USC varsity eight won the program's second Pac-12 title and fourth individual title overall as the Trojans took second place overall at the conference championships. For more information, please visit

    2014 USC-UCLA DUAL
    Port of Los Angeles | Los Angeles, Calif.
    May 3, 2014


    1 6:36.30 USC 1 6:47.20 UCLA 1 7:39.30 USC 1 7:54.60 USC 1 7:05.80 UCLA
    2 6:47.20 UCLA 2 6:54.20 USC 2 7:51.10 UCLA 2 8:08.70 UCLA 2 7:34.10 USC
    USC 1V8 USC 2V8 USC 1V4 USC 2V4 USC N8
    Bow Svenja Jonas Bow Eglit Vosu Bow Shelby Adair Bow Elaine Krebs Bow Anu Rajendran
    2 Deirdre Fitzpatrick 2 Gitta Kivilaan 2 Kamali Houston 2 Michelle Popelka 2 Lauren Hanano
    3 Elizabeth Turner 3 F. Hackenbroch 3 Sara Bilimoria 3 Erika Blumberga 3 Megan Linney
    4 Madelyn Walters 4 Jelena Miladinovic Stk Katherine Gleadow Stk E. Christianson 4 Sophia Mitropoulos
    5 Keret Einaste 5 Kajsa Olsson Cox Kaelyn Ibold Cox Shelby Penfield 5 Karina Batek
    6 Madara Strautmane 6 Darian DiCianno         6 Brianna Morris
    7 Krisztina Gyimes 7 Lindsay Gibson         7 Erika Blumberga
    Stk Vineta Moca Stk Rebecca Shaffer         Stk Marygail Dibuono
    Cox Paige Fernandes Cox Kellyn Freire         Cox Aly Scharpf