USC Rowing Selected to Eighth Straight NCAA Championships

    USC will make its 10th all-time appearance in the NCAA women's rowing championships.

    uscwomensrowing on Twitter  uscwomensrowing on Facebook  uscwomensrowing on Instagram  About Periscope

    Follow, Like, Instagram, and Periscope with @USCWomensRowing

    NCAA Rowing Home Page

    Live Times at

    LIVE Video Stream at

    May 17, 2016

    INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Committee selected the 22 teams that will compete in the 2016 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships with the 12th-ranked USC Women of Troy chosen as one of 11 at-large qualifiers on Tuesday, May 17. The Trojans will appear in the program's eighth straight NCAA championship regatta; the 10th all-time team selection.

    The championships will be held May 27-29 (Friday-Sunday) at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif., with the Pac-12 Conference serving as host. The waters at Nimbus Dam also serve as the site of the Trojans' spring break training camp and the annual Pac-12 Championships. Tickets are $15 per person, per day, and only cash is accepted at the championship site. For advance ticket purchases, please visit

    USC's varsity eight earned the ninth seed in the I Eights boat classification. The second varsity eight holds the 17th seed among the II Eights and the varsity four is the 13th seed in the Fours competition.

    The team championship is composed of 22 teams. 11 conferences are awarded automatic qualification and the remaining 11 slots are filled with at-large selections. Teams qualifying for the championship as an automatic qualifier or as an at-large selection are required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers.

    The 11 automatic qualifiers were California (Pac-12); Central Florida (American Athletic Conference); Gonzaga (West Coast Conference); Jacksonville (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference); Princeton (Ivy League); Rhode Island (Atlantic 10 Conference); Navy (Patriot League); Northeastern (Colonial Athletic Conference); Ohio State (Big Ten Conference); Texas (Big 12 Conference); and Virginia (Atlantic Coast Conference).

    Joining USC as at-large selections are Brown, Duke, Indiana, Michigan, Stanford, Syracuse, Washington, Washington State, Wisconsin, and Yale. The Trojans are one of five Pac-12 schools set to participate in the championship regatta.

    Division I preliminary heats are set to begin on Friday, May 27, at 9 a.m. PT. Preliminary repechage races will start at 4:12 p.m. on the same day. Semifinals take place on Saturday, May 28, at 8:12 a.m. C (places 13-18) and D (places 19-22) finals begin at 8:12 a.m. on Sunday, May 29, and petite and grand finals in all three events are set to begin at 10 a.m.

    USC earned a program-best fourth-place finish in 2013 and finished fifth twice (2007 and 2011). Only one Trojan boat has won an individual national title--the 1998 varsity four. Last year, the Women of Troy finished in 15th place (45 points). All three USC boats raced in C finals with the II Eights and Fours finishing third and the varsity eight fourth in its final.

    Ohio State claimed its third of three straight NCAA titles at Lake Natoma in 2015. The last Pac-12 team to win the national crown was Stanford in 2009. California owns a pair of championships (2005-06) while Washington has three (1997-98, 2001). Virginia won in 2010 and 2012. Brown has won seven of the 19 NCAA women's championships with Harvard owning the only other title from 2003.

    For all of the latest news, results and a webcast of all races at the NCAA Championships, visit For more information on USC women's rowing and a complete schedule, please visit, and follow @USCWomensRowing on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.