USC Rowers Chosen For 7th Straight NCAA Championships

    The Women of Troy earned a seventh straight bid into the NCAA championships.

    USCWomensRowing on Twitter  USCWomensRowing on Facebook

    Follow and Like @USCWomensRowing

    Official NCAA Release | 2015 NCAA Prelim Schedule Get Acrobat Reader

    USC Championship Notes (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

    May 19, 2015

    2015 NCAA Women's Rowing Championships
    Lake Natoma • Gold River, Calif.
    Friday-Sunday, May 29-31, 2015
    Hosted by the Sacramento State Aquatic Center

    Weather Forecast: 91°F high, 55°F low, sunny
    Live Times:
    Live Stream:

    INDIANAPOLIS - The NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Committee selected the teams that will compete in the 2015 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships with the 14th-ranked USC Women of Troy chosen as one of 11 at-large qualifiers on Tuesday, May 19. The Trojans will appear in the program's seventh straight NCAA championship regatta; the ninth all-time team selection.

    The championships will be held May 29-31 (Friday-Sunday) at Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif., with the Pac-12 Conference serving as hosts. The waters at Nimbus Dam also serve as the site of the Trojans' spring break training camp and the annual Pac-12 Championships. Seeded 16th, the USC varsity eight will race in the first I Eights heat on Friday (May 29) at 9:10 a.m. PT. The 2V8 (seeded 13th) races in the II Eights' fourth heat at 10:20 a.m., and the V4 holds the 11th seed and will race at 10:50 a.m. in the third Fours heat.

    USC earned a program-best fourth-place finish in 2013 and finished fifth twice (2007 and 2011). Only one Trojan boat has won an individual national title--the 1998 varsity four. Last year, the Women of Troy finished in 10th place (72 points). The varsity four was sixth in its grand final while the varsity eight and second varsity eight each took sixth place in respective petite finals.

    The team championship is composed of 22 teams. Eleven conferences were awarded automatic qualification and the remaining 11 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the championship field. Teams qualifying for the championship as an automatic qualifier or as an at-large selection are required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers. For the I Eights, II Eights, and Fours, all 22 boats will be seeded into four heats.

    The 11 automatic qualifiers were Brown (Ivy League); California (Pac-12 Conference); Central Florida (American Athletic Conference); Gonzaga (West Coast Conference); Jacksonville (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference); Massachusetts (Atlantic 10 Conference); Navy (Patriot League); Northeastern (Colonial Athletic Conference); Ohio State (Big Ten Conference); Texas (Big 12 Conference); and Virginia (Atlantic Coast Conference).

    Joining USC as at-large selections were Harvard, Indiana, Michigan, Notre Dame, Princeton, Stanford, Washington, Washington State, Wisconsin, and Yale to round out the field of 22 teams. The Trojans are one of five Pac-12 schools set to participate in the championship regatta.

    Preliminary heats are set to begin on Friday, May 29, at 9:10 a.m. PT. Preliminary repechage races are set to start at 3:50 p.m. on the same day. Semifinals will take place on Saturday, May 30, starting at 8:30 a.m. C (places 13-18) and D (places 19-22) finals start at 8:30 a.m. on Sunday, May 31, and petite and grand finals in all three events are set for 10 a.m. on the final day.

    Last year, Ohio State claimed its second of back-to-back NCAA titles at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind. The last Pac-12 team to win national the title was Stanford in 2009. California owns a pair of crowns (2005-06) while Washington has three (1997-98, 2001). Virginia won in 2010 and 2012. Brown has won seven of the 18 NCAA women's championships with Harvard owning the only other title from 2003.

    For all of the latest news, results and a webcast of all races at the NCAA Championships, visit For more information on USC women's rowing, please visit