Trojans Selected For Sixth Straight NCAA Championships

    USC will make its sixth straight team appearance in the NCAA championships.

    Twitter bird logo Follow @USCWomensRowing on Twitter

    Championship Home Page | Ticket Information

    2014 NCAA Women's Rowing Championships
    Eagle Creek Park | Indianapolis, Ind.
    Friday-Sunday, May 30-June 1
    Hosted by Notre Dame and the Indiana Sports Corporation

    Live Race Updates: Twitter @GameDayIndy
    Weather Update: 
    Twitter @IndSportsCorp
    Web Stream:

    May 20, 2014

    INDIANAPOLIS - The NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Committee selected the teams that will compete in the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships with the eighth-ranked USC Women of Troy chosen as an at-large qualifier on Tuesday, May 20. The Trojans join 10 other at-large selections and the 11 automatic qualifiers.

    The championships will be held May 30-June 1 (Friday-Sunday) at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis with the University of Notre Dame and the Indiana Sports Corporation serving as co-hosts.

    The Trojans will make their sixth consecutive team appearance in the NCAA championships; the program's eighth overall as a team. USC earned a program-best fourth-place finish in 2013 and finished fifth twice (2007 and 2011). Only one Trojan boat has won an individual national title--the 1998 varsity four. Last year, the USC four claimed silver while the USC 2V8+ enjoyed its best finish in school history at fourth place. USC's V8+ has earned bronze twice at the NCAA championships (2007 and 2012).

    The team championship is composed of 22 teams. Eleven conferences were awarded automatic qualification and the remaining 11 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the championship field. Teams qualifying for the championship as an automatic qualifier or as an at-large are required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers. For the I Eights, II Eights, and Fours, all 22 boats will be seeded into four heats.

    The 11 automatic qualifiers were Boston University (Patriot League); Jacksonville (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference); Louisville (American Athletic Conference); Massachusetts (Atlantic 10 Conference); Northeastern (Colonial Athletic Conference); Ohio State (Big Ten Conference); Oklahoma (Conference USA); Princeton (Ivy League); San Diego (West Coast Conference); Stanford (Pac-12 Conference), and Virginia (Atlantic Coast Conference).

    Joining USC as at-large selections were Brown, California, UCLA, Harvard, Indiana, Michigan, Notre Dame, Washington, Washington State, and Wisconsin to round out the field of 22 teams.

    Preliminary heats are set to begin on Friday, May 30, at 9:10 a.m. ET. Preliminary repechage races are set to start at 3:50 p.m. on the same day. Semifinals will take place on Saturday, May 31, starting at 8:30 a.m. C (places 13-18) and D (places 19-22) finals start at 8:30 a.m. on Sunday, June 1, and petite and grand finals in all three events are set for 10 a.m. on the final day.

    Last year, Ohio State claimed its first rowing national title at Eagle Creek Park. The last Pac-12 team to win the title was Stanford in 2009. California owns a pair of crowns (2005-06) while Washington has three (1997-98, 2001). Brown has won seven of the 17 NCAA women's championships with Harvard owning the only other title from 2003.

    All-session and single-session tickets for the championships can be purchased at through May 28. Beginning May 29, tickets are available on-site (cash only). All-session tickets are $40, while student and senior citizen tickets are $25. The tickets include all three days of competition. Single-session tickets are $15, while student and senior citizen are $10. Parking for spectators and volunteers is located at the Mary and John Geisse Soccer Complex located at 5425 Reed Road, Indianapolis, IN 46254, directly east of the 56th Street entrance to Eagle Creek Park. Cost for parking is $10 per car/per day and includes a complimentary shuttle to and from spectator viewing areas, park entry fee, and in-and-out privileges. Three-day parking passes are available for $25. Shuttles will begin 90 minutes prior to the start of competition each day. Tailgating is permitted in the parking lot only. Tents will not be allowed in the spectator viewing area. Additional parking information is available at

    Fans can follow @GameDayIndy on Twitter for up-to-date results, and @IndSportsCorp for overall event updates including weather and course information. For all of the latest news, results and a webcast of all races at the NCAA Championships, visit For more information on USC women's rowing, please visit

    Eagle Creek Park | Indianapolis, Ind.
    Friday-Sunday, May 30-June 1

    HEAT 1 | 9:10 a.m. HEAT 2 | 9:20 a.m. HEAT 3 | 9:30 a.m. HEAT 4 | 9:40 a.m.
    San Diego* (WCC) Oklahoma* (CUSA) Northeastern* (CAC) Massachusetts* (A10)
    USC Notre Dame UCLA Indiana
    Ohio State* (Big Ten) Stanford* (Pac-12) Princeton* (Ivy League) Brown
    Michigan Virginia* (ACC) California Washington
    Louisville* (AAC) Wisconsin Washington State Harvard
    Jacksonville* (MAAC) Boston U* (Patriot League)
    HEAT 1 | 9:50 a.m. HEAT 2 | 10 a.m. HEAT 3 | 10:10 a.m. HEAT 4 | 10:20 a.m.
    San Diego Oklahoma Northeastern Boston U
    Washington Notre Dame Indiana Washington State
    Brown Stanford Ohio State Virginia
    Michigan Princeton California UCLA
    Wisconsin Louisville Harvard USC
    Jacksonville Massachusetts
    HEAT 1 | 10:30 a.m. HEAT 2 | 10:40 a.m. HEAT 3 | 10:50 a.m. HEAT 4 | 11 a.m.
    USC Northeastern Oklahoma Boston U
    Michigan Harvard Notre Dame Washington State
    Brown Virginia Ohio State Stanford
    Princeton California Wisconsin Washington
    San Diego UCLA Louisville Indiana
    Jacksonville Massachusetts
    * Denotes automatic qualifier
    All preliminary heats will be held on Friday, May 30.
    3:50 p.m. I Eights Repechage 1
    4 p.m. I Eights Repechage 2
    4:10 p.m. II Eights Repechage 1
    4:20 p.m. II Eights Repechage 2
    4:30 p.m. Fours Repechage 1
    4:40 p.m. Fours Repechage 2