Trojans Head to Circle City for NCAA Championships

    The Women of Troy return to Indianapolis for the 2014 NCAA Championships.

    Twitter bird logo Follow @USCWomensRowing on Twitter

    USC Championship Notes (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

    Championship Home Page | Ticket Information

    2014 NCAA Women's Rowing Championships
    Eagle Creek Park | Indianapolis, Ind.
    Friday-Sunday, May 30-June 1
    Hosted by Notre Dame and the Indiana Sports Corporation

    Live Race Updates: Twitter @GameDayIndy
    Weather Update: 
    Twitter @IndSportsCorp
    Web Stream:

    May 21, 2014

    LOS ANGELES - The Women of Troy return to Indianapolis for a second straight year to participate in the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships at Eagle Creek Park. It is USC's sixth straight selection to the championships and the eighth overall for the team. The Trojans enter the national regatta as an at-large choice and with less fanfare than they did a year ago when they were ranked No. 1. This time, USC is ranked 11th, but the Women of Troy still wield great speed as they seek to better their program-best fourth-place finish from 2013.

    Despite an up-and-down season for the squad, the Trojans' varsity eight has flourished under the call of junior Paige Fernandes with two-time All-American Vineta Moca in the stroke seat. USC's V8 claimed the school's fourth straight Jessop-Whittier Cup at the San Diego Crew Classic (sixth overall) and posted several impressive victories this season. The Trojans' varsity four won the Karen Plumleigh Cortney Cup at the Crew Classic for the second year in a row and looks for continued success after winning silver NCAA medals in 2013.

    Last year, USC put each of its three boats in grand finals for the second time in program history and received a best finish from its II Eights, which took fourth place. The Trojans own one individual NCAA title from 1998 when the varsity four claimed the crown. Twice, the USC V8 has earned bronze medals (2007 and 2011).

    The 11 automatic qualifiers were Boston University (Patriot League); Jacksonville (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference); Louisville (American Athletic Conference); Massachusetts (Atlantic 10 Conference); Northeastern (Colonial Athletic Conference); Ohio State (Big Ten Conference); Oklahoma (Conference USA); Princeton (Ivy League); San Diego (West Coast Conference); Stanford (Pac-12 Conference), and Virginia (Atlantic Coast Conference). Joining USC as at-large selections were Brown, California, UCLA, Harvard, Indiana, Michigan, Notre Dame, Washington, Washington State, and Wisconsin to round out the field of 22 teams.

    Preliminary heats are set to begin on Friday, May 30, at 9:10 a.m. ET. Preliminary repechage races are set to start at 3:50 p.m. on the same day. Semifinals will take place on Saturday, May 31, starting at 8:30 a.m. C (places 13-18) and D (places 19-22) finals start at 8:30 a.m. on Sunday, June 1, and petite and grand finals in all three events are set for 10 a.m. on the final day.

    Last year, Ohio State claimed its first rowing national title at Eagle Creek Park. The last Pac-12 team to win the title was Stanford in 2009. California owns a pair of crowns (2005-06) while Washington has three (1997-98, 2001). Brown has won seven of the 17 NCAA women's championships with Harvard owning the only other title from 2003.

    The USC varsity eight won the program's fourth straight Jessop-Whittier Cup as the top boat at the San Diego Crew Classic this spring. It was the Trojans' sixth overall claim to the cup. The Women of Troy also brought the prestigious trophy back to Heritage Hall in 2007 and in 2001.

    Senior stroke Vineta Moca holds a 3.75 grade-point average in one of the most demanding courses of study at the University. The Public Policy and Development major graduated this spring and is a two-time CRCA National Scholar-Athlete and a two-time selection to the Pac-12 All-Academic first team. Trojan rowers sport some of the highest GPAs in the USC Athletic Department including sophomore Sara Bilimoria's 3.80 in Global Health. The breadth of study within the crew ranges from Cinematic Arts to Political Science and Business Administration to Communications and Geology.

    The Women of Troy may be as diverse a team as there is. The United States is represented by nine different states with only seven rowers from California. The U.S. is just one of eight different countries represented on USC's varsity roster. Trojan boats have rowers from Canada, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Serbia, and Sweden.

    USC returned two CRCA All-Americans to its 2013-14 roster. Senior stroke Vineta Moca was a second-team selection as a sophomore a first-teamer as a junior. Junior port Krisztina Gyimes received second-team honors as a sophomore in 2013. The Trojans have had 25 All-Americans with 22 since head coach Zenon Babraj arrived on campus.

    All-session and single-session tickets for the championships can be purchased at through May 28. Beginning May 29, tickets are available on-site (cash only). All-session tickets are $40, while student and senior citizen tickets are $25. The tickets include all three days of competition. Single-session tickets are $15, while student and senior citizen are $10. Parking for spectators and volunteers is located at the Mary and John Geisse Soccer Complex located at 5425 Reed Road, Indianapolis, IN 46254, directly east of the 56th Street entrance to Eagle Creek Park. Cost for parking is $10 per car/per day and includes a complimentary shuttle to and from spectator viewing areas, park entry fee, and in-and-out privileges. Three-day parking passes are available for $25. Shuttles will begin 90 minutes prior to the start of competition each day. Tailgating is permitted in the parking lot only. Tents will not be allowed in the spectator viewing area. Additional parking information is available at

    Eagle Creek Park | Indianapolis, Ind.
    Friday-Sunday, May 30-June 1

    HEAT 1 | 9:10 a.m. HEAT 2 | 9:20 a.m. HEAT 3 | 9:30 a.m. HEAT 4 | 9:40 a.m.
    San Diego* (WCC) Oklahoma* (CUSA) Northeastern* (CAC) Massachusetts* (A10)
    USC Notre Dame UCLA Indiana
    Ohio State* (Big Ten) Stanford* (Pac-12) Princeton* (Ivy League) Brown
    Michigan Virginia* (ACC) California Washington
    Louisville* (AAC) Wisconsin Washington State Harvard
    Jacksonville* (MAAC) Boston U* (Patriot League)
    HEAT 1 | 9:50 a.m. HEAT 2 | 10 a.m. HEAT 3 | 10:10 a.m. HEAT 4 | 10:20 a.m.
    San Diego Oklahoma Northeastern Boston U
    Washington Notre Dame Indiana Washington State
    Brown Stanford Ohio State Virginia
    Michigan Princeton California UCLA
    Wisconsin Louisville Harvard USC
    Jacksonville Massachusetts
    HEAT 1 | 10:30 a.m. HEAT 2 | 10:40 a.m. HEAT 3 | 10:50 a.m. HEAT 4 | 11 a.m.
    USC Northeastern Oklahoma Boston U
    Michigan Harvard Notre Dame Washington State
    Brown Virginia Ohio State Stanford
    Princeton California Wisconsin Washington
    San Diego UCLA Louisville Indiana
    Jacksonville Massachusetts
    * Denotes automatic qualifier
    All preliminary heats will be held on Friday, May 30.
    3:50 p.m. I Eights Repechage 1
    4 p.m. I Eights Repechage 2
    4:10 p.m. II Eights Repechage 1
    4:20 p.m. II Eights Repechage 2
    4:30 p.m. Fours Repechage 1
    4:40 p.m. Fours Repechage 2