Morgan Andrews Named a Semifinalist for the Prestigious MAC Hermann Trophy Award

    Nov. 29, 2016

    LOS ANGELES - The National Soccer Coaches Association of America announced today the 15 women's semifinalists in consideration for the 2016 MAC Hermann Trophy, based on voting by NCAA Division I soccer coaches, and USC senior midfielder Morgan Andrews was named a semifinalist.

    Andrews becomes the third Trojan in program history to be named a Hermann Trophy semifinalist, joining Amy Rodriguez in 2008 and Kristin Olsen in 2009.

    Andrews, a native of Milford, N.H., earned First Team All-Pac-12 for the second-straight season as the Trojans finished second in the Pac-12 and have advanced to the NCAA Women's College Cup for just the second time in program history. She was named the third-best collegiate player at the 2016 midseason by TopDrawer Soccer. Andrews started all 23 games, ranking second on the team with nine goals, second with 21 points (9 goals, 3 assists). She is also tied for the team lead with four game-winning goals.

    Overall Andrews has scored in six different games, three of those being multi-goal outings. Andrews has a knack for coming up big in big games, scoring two goals, including the game-winner on Oct. 6 as the Trojans upset then-No. 1 Stanford 3-0. She also scored the game-winning goal against then-No. 8 North Carolina on Sept. 11 as the Trojans upset the Tar Heels 3-0. She also tallied two goals at Oregon on Sept. 29th and two goals against Eastern Washington in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

    Andrews has tallied two of the Trojans' five postseason goals this season, helping to lead the Trojans to the 2016 College Cup. Dating back to last season's postseason, she has scored seven of the Trojans' 11 postseason goals over that time. In just two seasons as a Trojan, she has scored 21 career goals, good for 10th best in USC program history. Andrews also holds the USC record for consecutive games with multiple goals, set over three games to end the 2015 season. She also tallied the first-ever hat trick in the NCAA postseason in program history when she scored three against Cal State Fullerton in 2015.



    The MAC Hermann Trophy, the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer, has been awarded annually since 1967. Most recently, Jordan Morris (Stanford) and Raquel Rodriguez (Penn State) received the award for outstanding intercollegiate performances during their 2015 seasons.

    Three men's finalists and three women's finalists will be named on December 14 at the conclusion of voting by NCAA Division I soccer coaches. The 2016 MAC Hermann Trophy banquet will be held at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on January 6, 2017 to formally announce this year's winners.

    For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy, visit