Ishimatsu, Li Earn Top Pac-12 Diving Honors

    Haley Ishimatsu, after she won her second straight NCAA platform title.

    March 26, 2014

    USC junior Haley Ishimatsu was named 2014 Pac-12 Women's Diver of the Year while USC's Hongping Li was named 2014 Pac-12 Women's Diving Coach of the Year for the sixth year in a row and for a record 11th time, the Conference office announced today. The awards were voted on by the Pac-12 women's diving coaches.

    Ishimatsu became the first NCAA woman to repeat as an NCAA platform champion since 1992-93 when she won the event at the recently completed championships on Saturday. She also earned her first All-American honors on 1-meter with a sixth-place finish and scored for the first time on 3-meter with a 13th-place finish.

    That followed springboard wins at the 2014 NCAA Zone E Championships and titles on 3-meter and platform at the 2014 Pac-12 Championships. Her platform title was her second straight conference crown on the board and she set a Pac-12 record in the process.

    The Seal Beach, Calif. native was named the Pac-12 women's Diver of the Meet in addition to receiving February Women's Diver of the Month honors. Only a junior, the All-American now owns three Pac-12 individual titles and two NCAA platform championships. She follows in the footsteps of her older sister, Victoria, who was a four-time Pac-12 Diver of the Year from 2009-2012.

    Li has been named the Pac-12 Women's Diving Coach of the Year for the sixth consecutive year and 11 times overall. Since joining the Trojans in 1999, Li has guided men's and women's divers to eight NCAA titles. Under his tutelage, Ishimatsu established a new NCAA record on the platform in 2013 then went on to repeat as the NCAA platform champion last weekend. Li also coached Haley's older sister Victoria, an All-American and NCAA champion in the one-meter springboard. The older Ishimatsu, who currently serves as a volunteer assistant for the Trojans, owns seven Pac-12 individual diving championships--three-consecutive in the one-meter (2010-12) and four-consecutive (2009-12) in the three-meter.