Green and Weishoff Named to Inaugural Hall of Fame Class

    USCWomensVolley on Twitter  USCWomensVolley on Facebook  USCWomensVolley on Instagram  About Periscope  Snapchat logo

    Follow, Like, Instagram, Periscope, and Snap with @USCWomensVolley

    Jan. 4, 2017

    LOS ANGELES -- USC women's volleyball greats Debbie Green and Paula Weishoff were each named to the inaugural class of the Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame on Wednesday, Jan. 4. An induction ceremony will be held on May 7 at the Highway 39 Event Center in Anaheim, Calif.

    The SCIVB Hall of Fame will be housed at the American Sports Centers (ASC) in Anaheim, where the USA Men's and Women's National Teams train.

    Green (now Gree-Vargas) and Weishoff are part of a 25-member inaugural SCIVBHOF class that also includes former Men of Troyt greats Dusty Dvorak, Steve Timmonsm and Bryan Ivie. All five Trojans won national team titles at USC and medals in the Olympics.

    Green was a dominating setter, who lost one match in two years in guiding the Women of Troy to AIAW titles in 1976 and 1977 and then won a silver medal at the 1984 Olympics in Los Angeles. Weishoff was the MVP of the 1980 AIAW championships in her lone college playing season as USC won the title. She was part of the 1984, 1992, and 1996 USA Olympic teams, winning a silver and bronze.

    Timmons and Dvorak were starters on the first USA Olympic Gold Medal team in 1984 in Los Angeles and also key members of USC's second NCAA title team in 1980 that beat UCLA in the finals. Timmons was also a starter on the 1988 USA Gold Medal team from Seoul. Ivie won a bronze medal in Barcelona in 1992 after leading USC to NCAA titles in 1988 and 1990.

    Overall, the inductees into this first SCIVBHOF class includes more than 100 combined Olympic medals, NCAA, AIAW & USVBA Titles and numerous United States Volleyball Association (USAV) honors from the 1950s into the 2000s.

    Joining the five Trojans in the inaugural class are: Andy Banachowski, Laurel Brassey Iversen, Craig Buck, Deitre Collins-Parker, Tara Cross-Battle, Bob Ctvrtlik, Marv Dunphy, Rolf Engen, Kathy Gregory, Karch Kiraly, Ricci Luyties, Chris Marlowe, Misty May-Treanor, Kim Oden, Mike O'Hara, Doug Partie, Al Scates, Gene Selznick, Sinjin Smith, and Jeff Stork.

    The Women of Troy earned a program-record 26th consecutive berth into the NCAA tournament (34th overall appearance) and finished 2016 with an 18-14 overall record. USC was 10-10 in Pac-12 matches and finished in a tie for seventh place. The Trojans won three of their four pre-conference tournaments and became the 17th NCAA Division I program to cross the 1,000 all-time victories threshold with a win over Arizona State on Oct. 5. Head coach Mick Haley earned his 400th win as the Trojans' head coach.

    For more information on the USC women's volleyball team and a complete schedule and results, please visit Fans of the Women of Troy can follow @USCWomensVolley on Periscope, Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, and Instagram.