USC Women's Volleyball Selected to 26th Straight NCAA Tournament

    USCWomensVolley on Twitter  USCWomensVolley on Facebook  USCWomensVolley on Instagram  About Periscope  Snapchat logo

    Follow, Like, Instagram, Periscope, and Snap with @USCWomensVolley

    *** Interactive NCAA Tournament Bracket ***

    Nov. 27, 2016

    LOS ANGELES -- The USC women's volleyball team (18-13) was chosen to the program's 26th consecutive NCAA tournament and will make its 34th overall appearance in the annual tourney. The NCAA's selection committee announced its field of 64 teams on Sunday, Nov. 27, and selected the Trojans for an at-large berth. The Women of Troy will open their tournament run in a first-round match against Hawai'i (22-5) out of the Big West Conference at the Sports Pavilion in Minneapolis on Friday, Dec. 2, at 4:30 p.m. CT (2:30 p.m. PT). Ticket information will be available at this week.

    December 9, 2011
    Honolulu, Hawaii

    On the other side of the four-team first-round bracket are North Dakota (26-9) from the Big Sky Conference and No. 2-seeded site host Minnesota (25-4) from the Big Ten conference. The Fighting Hawks and Golden Gophers will play at 7 p.m. CT on Friday (Dec. 2). Winners of the two first-round matches will advance to the second round and meet at 6 p.m. CT (4 p.m. PT) on Saturday, Dec. 3.

    The Trojans are 18-21 in all-time meetings with the Rainbow Wahine. USC is 4-5 when it faces UH in the postseason. The last time the teams met, USC defeated Hawai'i in five sets at Stan Sheriff Center (Honolulu) in the 2011 NCAA regional semifinals.

    Big Ten champion Nebraska (27-2) received the No. 1 overall seed and Wisconsin (25-4) was seeded No. 3 to give the Big Ten all three of the top three seeds. Texas (22-4) was seeded No. 4 out of the Big XII. The Pac-12 had three seeded teams including No. 6 Stanford (21-7), conference champion No. 8 Washington (26-4), and No. 10 UCLA (24-6). Those three teams and the Trojans comprised a group of eight Pac-12 schools chosen to the tournament: Arizona (18-14), Oregon (20-9, Utah (20-11), and Washington State (21-11).

    The Trojans hold a 122-37 (.767) all-time postseason record and are 76-30 (.717) in the NCAA tournament. USC is the winner of six national championships including the first-ever NCAA title awarded in 1981. The Trojans won back-to-back NCAA crowns under current head coach Mick Haley in 2002 and 2003 and are the holders of three AIAW titles (1976, '77, '80). USC has appeared in all but two of the NCAA's 36 annual championships tournaments (1986, 1990).

    Since the NCAA expanded to a field of 64 teams in 1998, the Women of Troy have advanced to 11 regional championship matches, seven national semifinals (final four), and two national finals (both victories). Including the pair of NCAA title runs, USC is 46-13 (.780) in NCAA tournament matches under Haley. Last year, the Trojans were awarded the top overall seed and advanced to the San Diego Regional Championship match where they were upset by Kansas in a five-set finish.

    The top remaining seed out of each quadrant of the NCAA bracket will host regional semifinals (Dec. 9) and championship matches (Dec. 10) the following week. The national semifinals will be held on Thursday, Dec. 15, at 7 and 9:30 p.m. ET and the championship match will be played at 9 p.m. ET on Saturday, Dec. 17, at Nationwide Arena in Columbus, Ohio.

    For more information on the USC women's volleyball team and a complete schedule and results, please visit Fans of the Women of Troy can follow @USCWomensVolley on Periscope, Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, and Instagram.