Six Trojans Land All-MPSF Honors

    May 2, 2017

    The USC women's water polo team has secured six All-MPSF honorees for the second straight season, led by repeat All-MPSF First Team honors for senior Stephania Haralabidis. It's a balanced group of Trojans on the awards list this year, with three seniors, one sophomore and two freshmen grabbing places on the All-MPSF honor roll. On the All-MPSF Second Team sit seniors Brigitta Games and Ioanna Haralabidis, along with sophomore goalie Amanda Longan and freshman Maud Megens. Megens and fellow freshman Denise Mammolito also have earned spots on the MPSF All-Newcomer Team. Additionally, Games and Stephania Haralabidis each earned MPSF All-Tournament Team accolades for their efforts at last weekend's tourney.

    Now a back-to-back All-MPSF First Team selection, senior Stephania Haralabidis also grabbed MPSF All-Tournament Team honors last year. This season, Haralabidis is USC's hands-down top scorer with 80 goals -- fourth most by a Trojan in a single season -- and has moved up to rank No. 2 all-time on USC's career scoring list with 265 goals. She picked up two MPSF Player of the Week awards this year and has scored in 30 of USC's 31 games with 23 multiple-goal outings. She blasted a program-record nine goals in a single game earlier this year, and has scored 15 goals against top-5 opponents so far this season. Haralabidis earned MPSF All-Newcomer honors as a freshman and was a Second Team pick as a sophomore before landing First Team honors this season and last.



    Senior two-meter standout Brigitta Games is an All-MPSF Second Team pick for the second straight season. She's the Trojans' second leading scorer this year with 56 goals to date -- 13 of which have come against top-5 opponents. Also with her second MPSF All-Tournament Team selection in-hand, Games has scored in 27 games with 14 multiple-goal outings. She also blasted a new career high this season with a seven-goal game, and she's moved up to rank No. 18 all-time in career scoring with her 126 goals scored in under three seasons of work as a Trojan. Games earned MPSF All-Newcomer Team honors as a sophomore in her first year at USC.

    Senior Ioanna Haralabidis also has her third set of All-MPSF honors now with this year's selection to the All-MPSF Second Team. She was a second teamer as a sophomore, too, and a First Team pick last year. This season, she's moved up in the USC record books to now rank No. 9 all-time in career scoring with 170 goals to date. In 2017, she's the Trojans' fourth leading scorer with 52 goals - a career best for her - with 15 goals scored against top-5 teams. Haralabidis has scored in 27 games to date with 15 multiple-goal outings.

    Sophomore goalie Amanda Longan has established herself as a regular on the All-MPSF honor roll in just under two seasons of work. She's on the All-MPSF Second Team this year after First Team and All-Newcomer honors as a freshman. Now a sophomore, Longan has delivered 202 saves to make her young career count 347, ranking her No. 7 all-time on USC's goalie saves list. This year, Longan has averaged 10.8 saves and 5.3 goals-against per game while recording 13 double-digit save outings in her 22 appearances.

    Freshman Maud Megens has made an early mark on the MPSF in scoring All-MPSF Second Team honors as well as a place on the MPSF All-Newcomer Team. She's the Trojans' third leading scorer with 54 goals so far in her first season as a Trojan, having scored in 23 games with 18 multiple-goal outings. Megens also was twice selected as MPSF Newcomer of the Week. She set her career high with a pair of five-goal outings for the Trojans.

    USC's other breakout freshman this year is Denise Mammolito, a regular starter in her first season as a Trojan and now holding a well-deserved spot on the MPSF All-Newcomer Team. Mammolito has scored 27 goals to date, striking in 18 games with eight multiple-goal outings.

    For the complete All-MPSF Team list, CLICK HERE. USC's 2017 MPSF honorees are listed below.


    All-MPSF First Team
    Stephania Haralabidis

    All-MPSF Second Team
    Brigitta Games
    Ioanna Haralabidis
    Amanda Longan
    Maud Megens

    MPSF All-Newcomer Team
    Denise Mammolito
    Maud Megens

    MPSF All-Tournament Team
    Brigitta Games
    Stephania Haralabidis