Five Women of Troy Earn MPSF Scholar-Athlete Honors

    Avery Peterson boasts the top GPA of the USC bunch on this year's MPSF Scholar-Athlete list.
    May 24, 2016

    Fresh off winning the 2016 NCAA Championship, the USC women’s water polo team has landed a program-best five Women of Troy on the MPSF’s All-Academic Scholar-Athlete list. Captains Avery Peterson and Brianna Daboub stand at the top of the list with the strongest GPAs of the group, joined by three more fellow champions in Melissa Bergesen, Ioanna Haralabidis and Annika Jensen on this year’s academic honor roll.

    Junior captain Avery Peterson has locked in on the second MPSF Scholar-Athlete status of her USC career. Boasting a 3.41 GPA as a communication major, Peterson leads the pack of Trojans on the list. Fellow captain, sophomore Brianna Daboub, holds a 3.18 GPA as a health and human sciences major to lead a group of first-time honorees on the MPSF’s academic honor roll. Another sophomore, Annika Jensen, has also collected her first MPSF Scholar-Athlete honors as a communication major with a 3.13 GPA. Senior Melissa Bergesen, meanwhile, wraps her USC water polo career with a 3.12 GPA to go with her recently completed degree in sociology. Another first-time honoree, junior Ioanna Haralabidis has picked up MPSF Scholar-Athlete status with her 3.03 GPA as a communication major.



    The five NCAA champions have combined to equal USC’s best representation on the MPSF All-Academic Scholar-Athlete. USC also landed five Trojans on the honor roll in 2007 and 2012.

    MPSF academic honors are awarded to student-athletes who have at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA, are at least a sophomore and have completed at least one academic year at their institution, and who have participated in at least 50 percent of their team’s competition.