Three Miners Tabbed Capital One Academic All-District® 7

Nov. 10, 2011

EL PASO UTEP football’s Jeremy Springer, soccer’s Azia Nicholson and volleyball’s Stephanie Figueroa were named to the 2011 Capital One Academic All-District® 7 first team as announced by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) on Thursday.
CoSIDA recognizes the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances athletically and in the classroom. This is the 11th CoSIDA honor for the soccer program and the first for football and volleyball.
Springer has registered 56 tackles so far in 2011, the second-best effort on the team. Springer has been credited with five tackles for losses, an interception returned for four yards, two pass break-ups and two quarterback hurries. A 2008 Conference USA Academic Medalist (minimum 3.75 GPA), Springer is a four-time member of the Conference USA Commissioner's Honor Roll (minimum 3.0 GPA).
Nicholson, who was selected to the 2011 Academic All-Conference USA second team, also excelled on the pitch in 2011. She was tabbed as a second-team All C-USA performer and was a key cog for the Miners.  She tied for fifth on the squad in goals (four) and assists (three). During league action she was particularly strong, scoring three times. Nicholson boasts a 4.0 GPA while pursuing a degree in biology.
A 2010 C-USA Commissioner’s Academic Medalist, Figueroa ranks fifth in the conference and 74th nationally in digs per set with a 4.71 avg. She posted double-digit dig performances in 25 of 28 contests this season and registered a .983 reception percentage with 10 serve receive errors of 585 total attempts. The Puerto Rican native leads the Miners at the service line with .39 aces per set and ranks first in the league and 50th nationally and has helped the volleyball team accumulate over 1,400 hours of volunteer assistance.
First-team Academic All-District® honorees advance to the Capital One Academic All-America® Team ballot, where first-, second- and third-team All-America honorees will be selected later this month. For a complete list of all honorees visit



The Big Picture Photo Galleries